DE/EN

Maggie Lee

Magazine

10.02.–20.05.2024

Maggie Lee introduces her exhibition to Vernissage TV

The exhibition Magazine was born out of the artist’s long-held desire to publish her own magazine – a very personal magazine that would nonetheless circulate further than just her own circle of friends. Maggie Lee’s passion for this medium of distribution was inspired by her work in copy stores, and above all by creating zines since her teenage years in New Jersey. There is a special appeal to the creative self-realisation in self-publishing, which has developed into a scene of its own ever since cheap reproduction became accessible. This appeal is also reflected in Lee’s artistic practice: she collects material, cuts out, scans and copies, paints backgrounds, adds text or decorates with stickers and fabric remnants, then puts the finished pages back on the scanner, laminates them or cuts them into a different shape. Here, magazine-making becomes an artistic method: all her collages, installations, videos and sound works function via this technique of montage, associative arranging and the concomitant fun of disseminating the self-made. The exhibition at Kunsthalle Zürich can be read like a walk-in version of the imagined magazine: at the center of the room is the desk at which the magazine is created, with inspirations and ideas scattered around it like will-o’-the-wisp. On the walls are paintings like layouted magazine pages, graffiti akin to overlooked advertisements and, lastly, a strange horror film that attracts attention like a sophisticated editorial.

My interpretation of a magazine
Making sense of time in a way

Maggie Lee’s artistic work has been compared previously to diary writing – possibly because of her many years as a blogger in which reposting, collecting, commenting and compiling are employed in the same fashion as material in the DIY tradition of zine culture. The entries in diaries and blogs can be short or essayistic and refer to a certain time through their specific looks and, of course, their dating. Yet the personal and the temporal seem not so much confessional in Maggie Lee’s work as instead a game of contradictions whose seriousness can be continuously adapted or rejected. Despite all the references and what some may perceive to be outdated technologies, the artist never drifts into wistful nostalgia; she never mourns a youthful past or conjures up the myth of eternal youth.

A bit romantic, a bit demented, it is chic and earthy too
Gritty NYC LES memories, like downtempo or drum and bass ish
DIY & superstar mood and thoughts

The artist often uses a rebellious tone in her work, which could be compared to the punk ethos of zines and teenage defiance. Biting, sometimes harmless and even cute, but never well-behaved or conciliatory, this demeanour testifies to an awareness of the expectations placed on adolescents as consumers: ‘Teenagers are omnivorous, tireless consumers, careless but at times attentive. They often give form to their world and their culture in an aggressive manner, but at the same time they are forced to come to grips with the labels, judgements and formulae [in short: expectations] of adults.’[1] Maggie Lee thus uses this juvenile desire for opposition as an aesthetic process. What all her montages have in common is that they do not fulfil, or only seem to fulfil, expectations of a successful work of art or artistic modesty – not unlike the pistol on the table in the middle of the room, which serves as a red herring for a possible plot. It quickly turns out to be a dummy lighter and a false promise, a lame joke about the exhibition title (magazine = the pistol’s chamber) and a travesty of danger.

gang/ lethal shooting hearts

Accordingly, the new film made for the exhibition is a messed-up horror story that is not afraid to make use of stale coming-of-age tropes and no-gos. Under the pretext of narrating a romance, it deliberately presents itself in the guise of an indie film and combines trashy violence with selected outfits from past subcultures. Like the art direction of an editorial or a fashion shoot, the video is driven by a love of arranging, staging and spontaneity: the styling is highly considered, the spoken text is improvised and even the love story is a date arranged between two of the artist’s acquaintances.

Rebellious unconventional
I like contradictory

The lists and buzzwords popping up throughout this description of the exhibition function in a similar way to slogans on scraps of paper, arranged in an analogue layout on a magazine page and placed in relation to images and content. But they also function like tags on internet blogs, which link one article to another and often follow a personal sorting principle. Unmixed colours in garish tones reminiscent of indie sleaze and electroclash often appear, in addition to self-confident phrases and striking motifs. Isolating one element from a larger context and trying it out in a different environment can be seen as cutting out content for a collage. Decontextualization and false projections from outside are gratefully embraced; she employs a shoulder-shrugging attitude towards misinterpretation or attribution as a rebellious act.

Time and now

At a time when the economy is having an unmistakable impact on art production, Maggie Lee is not concerned with what is right, but rather with the sincere desire to create her own culture and to be able to dream, independent from external demands.

Magical in a cool girl cool world way
Allow ability to dream

[1] Francesco Bonami and Raf Simons: The Fourth Sex: Adolescent Extremes, Milan 2003, cover text.

The exhibition is curated by Otto Bonnen, Assistant Curator Kunsthalle Zürich.

With particular thanks to Luca Beeler, Jenny Borland, Yardane Elbaz, Joe Lesher Liao, Jady Mao, Édouard Montassut, Sveta Mordovskaya, Elyse Robin, Erik Rock, Pascal Schneuwly, Lennart Schweder, Heji Shin, Charlotte Strange, Carmen Tobler, Kei Tsuruta

Press information

For image enquiries, further information on the exhibition programme and interviews please contact Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch or +41 (0)44 272 15 15
Agenda
February
Su 18.02.
15:00–17:00

Afternoon for all: Maggie Lee

Th 29.02.
18:00–19:30

Art Walk West

March
Sa 09.03.
14:00–16:00

Zine Workshop

Su 17.03.
15:00–17:00

Afternoon for all: Maggie Lee

Sa 23.03.
11:00–18:00

Open House Löwenbräukunst

April
Su 14.04.
15:00–17:00

Afternoon for all: Maggie Lee

May
Su 12.05.
15:00–17:00

Afternoon for all: Maggie Lee

DE/EN

Maggie Lee

Magazine

10.02.–20.05.2024

Information zur Ausstellung in einfacher Sprache.

Maggie Lee spricht über ihre Ausstellung für Vernissage TV

Die Ausstellung Magazine entstand aus dem lang gehegten Wunsch der Künstlerin, eine eigene Zeitschrift herauszugeben – ein ganz persönliches Magazin, das weiter zirkuliert als nur im eigenen Freundeskreis. Wegweisend für Lee’s Leidenschaft zu diesem Medium war ihre Arbeit in Copyshops, vor allem aber das Erstellen von Zines seit ihrer Teenagerjahre in New Jersey. Es liegt ein spezieller Reiz von kreativer Selbstverwirklichung im Selbstpublizieren, das sich seit dem Zugang zu billigen Reproduktionsmitteln zu einer eigenen Szene entwickelt hat. Dieser Reiz spiegelt sich auch in Maggie Lee’s künstlerischer Praxis wider: Sie sammelt Material, schneidet aus, scannt und kopiert, malt Hintergründe, fügt Texte hinzu oder verziert mit Stickern und Stoffresten, um die fertigen Seiten anschliessend wieder auf den Scanner zu legen, zu laminieren oder in eine andere Form zu schneiden. Bei Maggie Lee wird das Magazin-Machen zur künstlerischen Methode: All ihre Collagen, Installationen, Videos und Klangarbeiten funktionieren über diese Technik der Montage, das assoziative Arrangieren und dem damit verbundenen Spass an der Verbreitung des Selbstgemachten. Die Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Zürich kann wie eine begehbare Version dieses geträumten Magazins gelesen werden: Im Zentrum des Raumes steht der Schreibtisch, an dem das Heft entsteht, darum herum verteilen sich irrlichtartig Inspirationen und Ideen. An den Wänden befinden sich Malereien wie gelayoutete Zeitschriftenseiten, Graffiti wie übersehbare Werbeanzeigen und schliesslich ein eigenartiger Horrorfilm, der wie ein durchgeplantes Editorial Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zieht.

My interpretation of a magazine
Making sense of time in a way

Maggie Lee’s künstlerische Arbeit wurde bereits mit dem Tagebuchschreiben verglichen – möglicherweise wegen ihrer langjährigen Erfahrung als Bloggerin, wobei das Reposten, Ansammeln, Kommentieren und Zusammenstellen auf ähnliche Weise zum Einsatz kommt wie das Material in der Do-It-Yourself-Tradition der Zine-Kultur. Die Einträge in Tagebüchern und Blogs können kurz sein oder essayistisch und beziehen sich durch ihre spezifischen Looks und natürlich auch ihre Datierungen auf eine bestimmte Zeit. Doch das Persönliche und Zeitliche scheint bei Maggie Lee weniger Bekenntnis zu sein als vielmehr ein widersprüchliches Spiel, dessen Ernsthaftigkeit fortlaufend angepasst oder abgelehnt werden kann. Trotz aller Referenzen und vermeintlich veralteten Technologien driftet die Künstlerin nie in eine wehmütige Nostalgie ab. Nie trauert sie einer jugendlichen Vergangenheit hinterher oder beschwört den Mythos der ewigen Jugend herauf.

A bit romantic, a bit demented, it is chic and earthy too
Gritty NYC LES memories, like downtempo or drum and bass ish
DIY & superstar mood and thoughts

Die Künstlerin verwendet in ihrer Arbeit oft einen rebellischen Tonfall, den man mit dem punkigen Ethos der Zines und dem Trotz von Teenagern vergleichen könnte. Bissig, manchmal harmlos und sogar niedlich, aber nie artig oder versöhnlich, zeugt dieses Auftreten von einem Bewusstsein für Erwartungen, die an Jugendliche als Konsument:innen gestellt werden: «Teenagers are omnivorous, tireless consumers, careless but at times attentive. They often give form to their world and their culture in an aggressive manner, but at the same time they are forced to come to grips with the labels, judgements and formulae [kurz: Erwartungen] of adults.»[1] Dieses jugendliche Bedürfnis nach Opposition benutzt Maggie Lee somit als ästhetisches Verfahren. All ihre Montagen haben gemeinsam, Erwartungen an ein gelungenes Kunstwerk oder an künstlerische Bescheidenheit nicht einzulösen oder nur scheinbar zu erfüllen. Nicht unähnlich wie die Pistole auf dem Tisch in der Mitte des Raumes als Red Herring für eine mögliche Handlung. Sie entpuppt sich schnell als Feuerzeug-Attrappe und falsches Versprechen, als flacher Witz über den Ausstellungstitel (Magazin = Patronenkammer) und als Travestie von Gefahr.

gang/ lethal shooting hearts

So ist auch der neu für die Ausstellung entstandene Film eine verkorkste Horrorstory, welcher keine Angst davor hat, sich verbrauchten Coming-Of-Age-Tropen und No-Gos zu bedienen. Unter dem Vorwand, eine Romanze zu erzählen, präsentiert er sich bewusst im Gewand des Indie-Films und kombiniert trashige Gewalt mit ausgewählten Outfits vergangener Subkulturen. Wie die Art Direction eines Editorials oder eines Fashion Shootings ist das Video getragen von einer grossen Leidenschaft für das Arrangieren, Inszenieren und Spontanität: Das Styling ist durchdacht, der gesprochene Text improvisiert und sogar die Liebesgeschichte ein eingefädeltes Date von zwei Bekannten der Künstlerin.

Rebellious unconventional
I like contradictory

Die Listen und englischen Schlagwörter in dieser Beschreibung funktionieren vergleichbar mit Slogans in Form von Papierschnipseln, die im analogen Layout auf einer Magazinseite angeordnet werden und in Beziehung zu Bildern und Inhalt gesetzt werden. Sie funktionieren aber auch wie Tags auf Internetblogs, die einen Artikel mit einem anderen Eintrag verlinken und oft einem persönlichen Sortierungsprinzip folgen. Neben selbstbewussten Parolen und plakativen Motiven treten in ihrer Arbeit nicht selten ungemischte Farben in grellen Tönen auf, die an Indie Sleaze und Electroclash erinnern. Das Isolieren eines Elements aus einem grösseren Zusammenhang und Ausprobieren in einem anderen Umfeld kann wie das Ausschneiden von Inhalten für eine Collage betrachtet werden. Dekontextualisierung und falsche Projektionen von aussen werden dazu dankbar aufgegriffen. Diese schulterzuckende Haltung gegenüber Fehldeutung oder Zuschreibungen wird dabei als rebellischer Akt empfunden.

Time and now

In einer Zeit, in welcher sich die Ökonomie unübersehbar auf die Kunstproduktion niederschlägt, sorgt sich Maggie Lee nicht darum, was richtig wäre, es geht ihr vielmehr um das aufrichtige Verlangen, sich in der Unabhängigkeit von äusseren Anforderungen eine eigene Kultur zu schaffen und träumen zu dürfen.

Magical in a cool girl cool world way
Allow ability to dream

[1] Francesco Bonami und Raf Simons: The Fourth Sex: Adolescent Extremes, Mailand 2003, Klappentext.

Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Otto Bonnen, Assistenzkurator Kunsthalle Zürich.

Mit besonderem Dank an Luca Beeler, Jenny Borland, Yardane Elbaz, Joe Lesher Liao, Jady Mao, Édouard Montassut, Sveta Mordovskaya, Elyse Robin, Erik Rock, Pascal Schneuwly, Lennart Schweder, Heji Shin, Charlotte Strange, Carmen Tobler, Kei Tsuruta

Presseinformationen

Für Bildanfragen, Informationen zum Ausstellungsprogramm und Interviews kontaktieren Sie bitte Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch oder +41 (0)44 272 15 15