DE/EN

Liz Larner

below above

11.06–18.09.2022

Californian artist Liz Larner creates new meaning in sculpture. Her focus is on the body, on presence and absence, and ways of thinking over time. Her work combines established and unorthodox perspectives with a detailed knowledge of history, form and material. Thus an encounter with Larner's art is always rich and complex, it is sometimes contradictory but above all it is transformative. It is an encounter that goes beyond art and art history, that includes beauty, but also bodily experience, emotion and eros, cosmos and humour.

Liz Larner in conversation with Daniel Baumann 

"This is the thing about sculpture: you need to be there, and if you are there, you can feel it and know it, you get it physically as an embodied and embedded subject. Sculpture is the art form where this happens the most, where you use your senses to navigate an object in space and gain understanding from this engagement. … Looking at sculpture is a very active form of receiving information and a very free pursuit compared to pushing buttons on a screen to find information through established pathways, just by the way each person encounters a sculpture because it’s not flat. And the light, weather, temperature, and condition of each moment are in constant flux, and sculpture must be physically moved around and sensed through movement to be understood.“ *

Larner's interest lies in the transformation of material through form, of form through material and in the possible effects of this transformation. There is a formalist approach at work here that is oriented towards the convictions of modernism. At the same time, however, Larner is critical of the latter and says:
"People still look for mastery and dominance. I’d like to continue without these. I have to accept things, working with surprise and acceptance instead of determination, keeping a relationship with the way things are and the way I might want them to be before they become. I go back and forth between the two.“*

Larner's art is self-critical and political, it is deeply reflexive and philosophical. The artist is committed to experimentation and research, she understands and accepts the power of chance and repeatedly exposes herself to a wide variety of influences, approaches and considerations. This has resulted in an oeuvre developing since the late 1980s, one that does not rely on recognition. "I never felt the need for a style because the style was my approach, not what it looked like." *

The extensive exhibition below above at Kunsthalle Zürich reveals this diversity through a concentrated selection of works created between 1988 and 2022. In addition a new, expansive, sculptural installation over 500m2 consisting of the two elements Meerschaum Drifts and Asteroids will be shown for the first time. "Making an impossible but known space with sculpture is my intention for the 2nd floor at Kunsthalle Zürich. Let’s see if it is going to work. It is a vista transforming into objects and materials and what they mean, not just as art materials but clay (for the asteroids) as part of the earth yet representing outer space; and plastic, which comes from fossil fuels but is turned into everyday objects made of unrecyclable and recyclable plastics, like toys, plastic wrapping, bags and disposable containers, taking the form of sea foam. It’s a seascape or landscape or skyscape and an intense physical and possibly emotional experience through the material present." *

In this installation, Larner experiments with new materials, with recycling and possible developments of apocalyptic proportions. "It is about a disaster [environmental destruction] we potentially can control but seem not to have the will or consensus needed to control, and another disaster we can’t control." *

* Liz Larner in conversation with Daniel Baumann, published in Liz Larner. below above, Kunsthalle Zürich, 2022, which will be available during the exhibition for CHF 5.-.

Liz Larner (b. 1960) lives and works in Los Angeles. She has participated in numerous exhibitions. Solo exhibitions of her work were held in 2022 at SculptureCenter in New York and the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, both of which received much coverage in the American press.

During Zurich Art Weekend Liz Larner was in conversation with Catherine De Wolf, Assistant Professor of Circular Engineering for Architecture in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering at the ETH Zürich:

ZURICH ART WEEKEND 2022
KUNSTHALLE ZÜRICH: ART & SCIENCE TALKS

+

Press information

For image inquiries, information on the exhibition program and interviews contact Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch oder +41 (0)44 272 15 15

DE/EN

Liz Larner

below above

11.06–18.09.2022

Die kalifornische Künstlerin Liz Larner deutet die Skulptur neu. Im Zentrum steht der Körper, die Anwesenheit und Abwesenheit und ein Denken über die Zeit. Ihr Werk verbindet etablierte und unorthodoxe Sichtweisen mit einer detaillierten Kenntnis von Geschichte, Form und Material. So ist die Begegnung mit Larners Kunst immer reichhaltig und komplex, sie ist manchmal widersprüchlich, aber allem transformativ. Es ist eine Begegnung, die über die Kunst und die Kunstgeschichte hinausgeht, die Schönheit mit einschliesst, aber auch Körpererfahrung, Emotionen und Eros, Kosmos und Humor.

Liz Larner im Gespräch mit Daniel Baumann

«Das ist die Sache mit Skulptur: Du muss da sein und dann kannst du sie fühlen und erkennen, du begreifst sie physisch als ein verkörperter und eingebetteter Gegenstand. Das macht die Bildhauerei als Kunst aus, es geschieht im Moment, wo deine Sinne einsetzen, um ein Objekt im Raum einzuordnen und wo du, durch diese Auseinandersetzung, zu einem Verständnis gelangst […] Das Betrachten von Skulptur ist eine sehr aktive Form von Informationsaufnahme, es ist eine sehr freie Beschäftigung vergleichbar mit dem Drücken von Knöpfen auf einem Bildschirm, um über vorbestimmte Wege an Informationen zu gelangen. Allein schon wie jeder Mensch einer Skulptur begegnet, denn sie ist ja eben nicht flach, das Licht, das Wetter, die Temperatur und der Augenblick der Begegnung, das alles ist in ständigem Fluss. Die Skulptur muss körperlich umrundet werden und wird erst durch Bewegung wahrgenommen und verstanden.» *

Larners Kunst interessiert sich für die Transformation von Material durch Form, von Form durch Material und für die möglichen Wirkungen dieser Transformation. Hier ist ein formalistischer Ansatz am Werk, der sich an den Überzeugungen der Moderne orientiert. Gleichzeitig steht Larner letzteren jedoch kritisch gegenüber und sagt: «Die Menschen suchen noch immer nach Überlegenheit und Beherrschung. Ich würde gerne ohne beide weitermachen. Ich muss die Dinge akzeptieren. Anstelle von Entschlossenheit soll Überraschung und Akzeptanz treten, ich will eine Beziehung aufrechterhalten, wie die Dinge sind und wie ich sie gerne hätte bevor sie entstehen. Ich schwanke zwischen diesen beiden Haltungen hin und her.» *

Larners Kunst ist selbstkritisch und politisch, sie ist tief reflexiv und philosophisch. Die Künstlerin ist dem Experiment und dem Forschen verpflichtet, sie kennt und akzeptiert die Macht des Zufalls und setzt sich immer wieder verschiedensten Einflüssen, Vorgehensweisen und Überlegungen aus. Daraus ist seit Ende der 1980er Jahren ein Werk entstanden, welches jedoch nicht auf Wiedererkennungswert setzt. «Persönlich hatte ich nie das Bedürfnis, einen Stil zu haben, denn für mich war die Herangehensweise der Stil und nicht, wie etwas daherkommt.» *

Die umfassende Ausstellung below above in der Kunsthalle Zürich zeigt diese Vielfalt durch eine konzentrierte Auswahl von Arbeiten, die zwischen 1988 und 2022 entstanden sind. Dazu wird erstmals eine neue, raumgreifende, skulpturale Installation auf 500m2 gezeigt, die aus den zwei Elementen Meerschaum Drifts und Asteroids besteht. «Mit Skulptur einen unmöglichen, aber vertrauten Raum zu gestalten, das ist die Absicht für die Kunsthalle Zürich. Mal sehen, ob es gelingt. Es ist eine Vista, ein Ausblick, der sich in Objekte und Materialien verwandelt, die wiederum Bedeutung erhalten, aber nicht einfach nur als Kunst. Die Tonerde, die ich für die Asteroiden verwende, ist Teil der Erde und verkörpert hier den Weltraum; das Plastik ist aus fossilen Brennstoffen entstanden, es wird zum Alltagsgegenstand aus wiederverwertbarem oder nicht wiederverwertbarem Plastik, zu Spielsachen, Folien oder Plastiksäcke und Wegwerfartikel und nimmt hier schliesslich die Form von Meeresschaum an. Es ist eine Meereslandschaft, eine Landschaft oder eine Himmelslandschaft und erzeugt möglicherweise eine intensive körperliche und emotionale Erfahrung, hervorgerufen durch die Materialien.» *

In dieser Installation experimentiert Larner mit neuen Materialien, mit Recycling und möglichen Entwicklungen von apokalyptischem Ausmass. «Es geht um eine Katastrophe [die Zerstörung der Umwelt], die wir eigentlich abwenden können und doch scheinen wir nicht den Willen zu haben oder den nötigen Konsens anzustreben, um es zu tun: Eine weitere Katastrophe, die wir nicht im Griff haben.» *

*Liz Larner im Gespräch mit Daniel Baumann, veröffentlicht in: Liz Larner. below above, Kunsthalle Zürich 2022 (in der Ausstellung erhältlich für CHF 5.-)

Liz Larner (*1960) lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles. Sie hat an zahlreichen Ausstellungen teilgenommen. 2022 fand im New Yorker SculptureCenter sowie im The Walker Art Center in Minneapolis je eine Einzelausstellung statt, die in der amerikanischen Presse auf viel Echo stiessen.

Beim Zurich Art Weekend war Liz Larner im Gespräch mit Catherine De Wolf, Assistant Professor of Circular Engineering for Architecture im Departement Bau, Umwelt und Geomatik der ETH Zürich:

ZURICH ART WEEKEND 2022
Kunsthalle Zürich: Art & Science Talks, Liz Larner im Gespräch mit Prof. Catherine De Wolf
Film: Gate Productions

Presseinformationen

Für Bildanfragen, Informationen zum Ausstellungsprogramm und Interviews kontaktieren Sie bitte Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch oder +41 (0)44 272 15 15