DE/EN

Ida Ekblad

FRA ÅRE TIL OVN

08.06–18.08.2019

Exhibition opening on Vernissage TV; Finn Canonica im Magazin; [embed]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VrCCXv2jo0[/embed]

Find a text about the exhibition by Daniel Baumann and an image board of works in progress, production, sketches and reference images here (scroll down for English).

Ida Ekblad lives in Oslo. She is a painter, sculptor, publisher, music producer, curator, and designer. She also writes. Her sources of inspiration include folk art, fashion, garbage, Samuel Beckett, youth culture, the natural forces of the elements, Gena Rowlands, traditional crafts, and so on. Everyday life is central to her work—as an imposition, but also conveying grace; as a voracious monster and a source of happiness; as a disaster and a glimmer of hope—for in Ekblad's view, everything is full of promise, including art.

FRA ÅRE TIL OVN, the title of the exhibition, derives from the book Norsk Jernskulptur. Norske Minnesmerker published in 1944. From Vein to Furnace is a short description of how metal is extracted from ore and cast into sculptures. FRA ÅRE TIL OVN thus stands for transformation—the kind of which takes place billions of times a day. Transformation is located at the center of Ida Ekblad's art—as it is for all art, of course. Because ultimately, all an artist does is, through his or her thoughts and actions, to convert material, images, color, or politics into a new state or form. When this succeeds, it results in substantial added value, that is, knowledge, joy, or anger.

Transformation may seem like an expression of creativity, but it is, above all, hard work and also entails destruction. Ekblad struggles with the existing, wrestles with context, and rubs up against the resistance of material, history, and expectations. Transformation is both emancipatory and conditional, and this renders it as interesting as it is controversial. Because every act of transformation, however transgressive and queer, in turn leads to a consolidation; it is contingent on that moment when it establishes itself as a work of art, as an identity, or as a social order. All of this carries great excitement, and Ida Ekblad rehearses it joyously and at breakneck speed, over and over again.

The exhibition at Kunsthalle Zürich is divided into three chapters. It starts with a shop where one can buy merchandise, carpets, albums, and shirts. Here, visitors mutate into consumers, accomplices, or critics. Adjacent to the store is a sculpture hall, presenting the artist’s most recent works: iron and bronze casts. On the upper floor one finds oneself in a salon evocative of an haute-bourgeois underwater world on LSD. FRA ÅRE TIL OVN thus unfolds within a triangle of commercial store, public education center (Kunsthalle), and private villa. Accordingly, the exhibition plays with the art institution as a place where very different ideas and expectations come together, balance each other out, or contradict one another: as entertainment, education, and shopping experience—as well as (self-) critical reflection. It is these competing aspects that open up a space that creates impact and, ultimately, change.

FRA ÅRE TIL OVN is Ida Ekblad's largest solo exhibition to date and presents her most recent works specially created for Kunsthalle Zürich.

Ida Ekblad's exhibition is generously supported by Lafayette Anticipations, Herald St (London), Karma International (Zürich), and Galerie Max Hetzler (Berlin, Paris, London).

Biography: Ida Ekblad (*1980) lives and works in Oslo. She studied at Central Saints Martins in London, the National Academy of Art in Oslo, and at the Mountain School of Arts in Los Angeles. She participated in the Venice Biennale (2011, 2017) as well as in numerous international group exhibitions. Ekblad has presented solo exhibitions at Museo Tamayo, Mexico City (2019); Kunstverein Braunschweig (2018); Kunsthaus Hamburg (2017); Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm (2010); and Bergen Kunsthall (2010), among others.

For the opening on June 7th Ida Ekblad invited British DJ Joy Orbison (Hinge Finger / Meandyou | London) and Norvegian-Algerian DJ Karima F (Schloss Records | Oslo) for a party.

On Sunday afternoon June 9th Ida Ekblad talked about her exhibition at Kunsthalle Zurich

Press information

For image inquiries, information on the exhibition program and interviews contact Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch oder +41 (0)44 272 15 15
Agenda
May
Su 13.05.
10:00–17:00

«Was glauben die eigentlich?»

June
Fr 07.06.
18:00–21:00
Zurich Art Weekend 2019
Fr 07.06.
18:00
Opening & Party
Sa 08.06.
10:00–20:00
Zurich Art Weekend 2019
Su 09.06.
10:00–19:00
Zurich Art Weekend 2019
Sa 22.06.
19:00–04:00
artsnext
August
September

DE/EN

Ida Ekblad

FRA ÅRE TIL OVN

08.06–18.08.2019

Die Ausstellungseröffnung auf Vernissage TV; Finn Canonica im Magazin; Ida Ekblad im Gespräch mit Daniel Baumann [embed]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VrCCXv2jo0[/embed]

Ein Text zur Ausstellung von Daniel Baumann sowie eine Bildersammlung von Werken in Arbeit, Produktion, Skizzen und Referenzbildern finden Sie in diesem Heft.

Ida Ekblad lebt in Oslo und ist Malerin, Bildhauerin, Herausgeberin, Plattenproduzentin, Kuratorin und Designerin. Sie schreibt auch. Zur ihren Inspirationsquellen gehören Volkskunst, Fashion, Abfall, Samuel Beckett, Naturgewalt, Gena Rowlands, traditionelles Handwerk und vieles mehr. Der Alltag ist dabei zentral und zwar als Anmut und Zumutung, als gefrässiges Monster und Quelle des Glücks, als Desaster und Lichtblick. Denn in Ekblads Augen ist alles voller Versprechungen und somit auch die Kunst.

FRA ÅRE TIL OVN der Titel der Ausstellung, stammt aus dem Buch Norsk jernskulptur. Norske Minnesmerker von 1944. Von der Ader zum Ofen beschreibt verkürzt, wie aus Gesteinsadern Metall gewonnen und zu Skulpturen gegossen wird. FRA ÅRE TIL OVN steht somit für Transformation, wie sie täglich milliardenfach geschieht. Transformation steht im Zentrum von Ida Ekblads Kunst – und natürlich von Kunst überhaupt. Denn sie macht nichts anderes, als Material, Bilder, Farbe, Bewegungen oder Politik mittels Denken und Handeln in einen neuen Zustand überzuführen. Wenn dies gelingt, entsteht daraus ein grosser Mehrwert, also Erkenntnis, Freude oder Ärger.

Transformation mag vielen als kreativ erscheinen, sie ist aber vor allem harte Arbeit und Zerstörung. Sie kämpft mit dem Bestehenden, ringt mit dem Kontext und reibt sich am Widerstand von Material, Geschichte und Erwartungen. Transformation ist gleichzeitig Emanzipation und Abhängigkeit, und das macht sie so interessant wie umstritten. Denn jeder Akt der Transformation, und sei er noch so quer und queer, führt seinerseits wiederum zur Verfestigung und in Abhängigkeit vom Moment an, wo er sich als Kunstwerk, als Identität oder gesellschaftliche Ordnung konsolidiert und etabliert. Das alles ist aufregend und wird von Ida Ekblad mit Vergnügen und in atemberaubendem Tempo immer wieder von neuem durchgespielt.

Die Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Zürich teilt sich in drei Kapitel auf. Sie beginnt mit einem Shop, wo Merchandise, Teppiche, Platten und Shirts zu kaufen sind. Hier mutieren die Eintretenden zu Besucherinnen und Besuchern, zu Konsumentinnen, Komplizen oder Kritikerinnen. Hinter dem Shop liegt eine Art Skulpturenhalle mit neusten Bronzeskulpturen. In der oberen Etage findet man sich in einem Salon wieder, der an eine grossbürgerliche Unterwasserwelt auf Drogen erinnert. So entfaltet sich FRA ÅRE TIL OVN im Dreieck zwischen kommerziellem Shop, öffentlicher Bildungsstätte (Kunsthalle) und privater Villa. Damit bespielt die Ausstellung die Kunsthalle als Ort, wo sehr unterschiedliche Vorstellungen und Erwartungen zusammentreffen, oder sich die Waage halten, oder sich widersprechen: Unterhaltung, Bildung und Einkaufserlebnis sowie deren (selbst-)kritische Betrachtung. Dieser Widerstreit aber öffnet Räume, die Wirkung erzeugen und letztlich Veränderungen möglich machen.

FRA ÅRE TIL OVN ist Ida Ekblads bisher grösste Einzelausstellung und zeigt neuste, für die Kunsthalle Zürich entstandene Werke.

Mit grosszügiger Unterstützung von Lafayette Anticipations und Herald St (London), Karma International (Zürich) sowie Galerie Max Hetzler (Berlin, Paris, London).

Biografie: Ida Ekblad (*1980) lebt und arbeitet in Oslo. Sie studierte am Central Saints Martins in London, an der National Academy of Art in Oslo sowie an der Mountain School of Arts in Los Angeles. Teilnahme an der Venedig Biennale 2017 und 2011 sowie an zahlreichen internationalen Gruppenausstellungen. Einzelausstellungen u.a. im Museo Tamayo, Mexico City (2019), im Kunstverein Braunschweig (2018), Kunsthaus Hamburg (2017), in der Bonniers Konsthall Stockholm (2010), in der Bergen Kunsthall (2010).

Auf Einladung von Ida Ekblad spielten an der Eröffnung am 7. Juni der britische DJ Joy Orbison (Hinge Finger / Meandyou | London) und die norwegische-algerische DJ Karima F (Schloss Records | Oslo)

Am Sonntagnachmittag 9. Juni um 16.30 Uhr sprach Ida Ekblad in der Kunsthalle Zürich über ihre Ausstellung.

Presseinformationen

Für Bildanfragen, Informationen zum Ausstellungsprogramm und Interviews kontaktieren Sie bitte Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch oder +41 (0)44 272 15 15
Agenda
Mai
So 13.05.
10:00–17:00

«Was glauben die eigentlich?»

Juni
Fr 07.06.
18:00–21:00
Zurich Art Weekend 2019
Fr 07.06.
18:00
Opening & Party
Sa 08.06.
10:00–20:00
Zurich Art Weekend 2019
So 09.06.
10:00–19:00
Zurich Art Weekend 2019
Sa 22.06.
19:00–04:00
artsnext
August
September