DE/EN

Julia Scher

Maximum Security Society

08.10.2022–15.01.2023

Julia Scher (b. 1954 in Hollywood, CA, lives in Cologne) has traced the gradual emergence of a ‘maximum security society’ since the 1980s. This is how sociologist Gary T. Marx describes the current era of encompassing surveillance technologies and infrastructures. Borrowing its title from Marx, Scher’s first institutional survey brings together a selection of works from the last 30 years: multimedia installations, video works, sculptures and print and internet projects. Scher draws on this array of media to make explicit how technologies such as video surveillance, image recognition and automated database queries have become entirely mundane and structure our everyday reality. By mimicking familiar surveillance scenarios, Scher’s works evoke guarantees of security and comfort.

The central installation, Predictive Engineering, (1993-present), a new production for the Kunsthalle Zürich presentation, gives the impression that visitors are being checked over for suspicious appearances or behaviour. The mix of real and staged video footage leaves it unclear what form of protection (or threat) one should anticipate. The pseudo-brand ‘Security by Julia’ under which Scher has operated since the late 1980s, indicates the commercial interests that are behind much surveillance infrastructure. A sales catalogue from 1991 offers fictitious services and products such as ‘random public evaluations’ and ‘behavior and productivity deviance detectors’, while Scher has produced underwear, condoms and – more recently – hand sanitizer with the brand. Maximum Security Society also brings together the three beds Mama Bed, Papa Bed and Baby Bed (all 2003), which, equipped with cameras and monitors, make it evident how observation and communication (or, today, ‘sharing’) has permeated into the most intimate corners of our lives. The constellation of Mama/Papa/Baby also refers to another form of surveillance, that of the nuclear family and the normative constructions that are, we know, particularly evident in intimacy and sexuality – or violently dominate there. In concert with these, the 1988 film Discipline Masters is shown, a four-hour, confessional soliloquy in which the artist attempts ‘to preserve her understanding of [her] life history’.

Scher is known for numerous surveillance installations that address psycho-social dynamics and perversions, which we now appreciate as visionary. The formal, sculptural quality of her work is often overlooked, however. It is precisely this that the exhibition Maximum Security Society at Kunsthalle Zürich also aims to highlight, whether in works such as Girl Dog Hybrid (2005), Hidden Camera (Architectural Vagina) (1991-2018) or Surveillance Area (1994).

With warm thanks to Magnus Schaefer. We equally wish to thank those who have lent works to the exhibition: Esther Schipper (Berlin), Galerie DREI (Cologne), Mamco (Geneva), SFMOMA San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and Moritz Englebert.

Press information

For image inquiries, information on the exhibition program and interviews contact Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch oder +41 (0)44 272 15 15

DE/EN

Julia Scher

Maximum Security Society

08.10.2022–15.01.2023

Seit den 1980er Jahren geht Julia Scher (*1954 in Hollywood, Kalifornien, lebt in Köln) der Entstehung einer «Hochsicherheitsgesellschaft» nach. Schers Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Zürich entlehnt ihren Titel vom amerikanischen Soziologen Gary T. Marx, der die heutige Zeit der Allüberwachung als Maximum Security Society beschreibt. Diese Überblickschau bringt eine Auswahl von Arbeiten von Scher aus den letzten dreissig Jahren zusammen: Multimedia-Installationen, Videoarbeiten, Skulpturen, Publikations- und Internetprojekte. Scher bedient sich dieser Vielfalt an Medien, um aufzuzeigen, in welchem Mass Technologien wie Videoüberwachung, Bilderkennung und automatisierte Datenbankanfragen inzwischen alltäglich geworden sind und unsere Realität strukturieren. Indem sie gebräuchliche Überwachungsszenarien nachahmen, beschwören Schers Arbeiten Versprechungen von mehr Sicherheit und Bequemlichkeit.

Die zentrale für Zürich neu inszenierte Installation Predictive Engineering​ (1993-heute) gibt vor, Ausstellungsbesucher:innen auf verdächtiges Aussehen oder Verhalten zu überprüfen. Ihre Mischung aus echten und gestellten Filmaufnahmen belässt es im Unklaren, welche Form von Schutz (oder Bedrohung) man dabei erwarten sollte. Die Pseudo-Marke Security by Julia, unter der Scher seit den späten 1980ern arbeitet, verweist auf die kommerziellen Interessen, die hinter vielen Überwachungsinfrastrukturen stehen. Ein Verkaufsprospekt von 1991 bietet fiktive Dienstleistungen und Produkte wie «stichprobenartige öffentliche Auswertungen» und «Verhaltens- und Produktivitätsabweichungsdetektoren», aber Scher hat auch schon Unterwäsche, Kondome und – neu – Handdesinfektionsmittel unter dem Markenamen Security By Julia produziert. Maximum Security Society vereint zudem die drei Betten Mama Bed, Papa Bed und Baby Bed (2003), die, alle ausgerüstet mit Kameras und Monitoren, sichtbar machen, dass auch die letzten Winkel der Intimsphäre überwacht und übermittelt (heute: gepostet) werden. Zudem verweist die Konstellation Mama/Papa/Baby auf eine weitere Form von Überwachung, nämlich durch die Kleinfamilie und ihre normativen Vorstellungswelten, die sich bekannterweise gerade in Intimität und Sexualität besonders gut spiegeln beziehungsweise diese gewaltvoll beherrschen. Passend dazu wird der Film Discipline Masters von 1988 gezeigt, ein vier Stunden langes, bekenntnishaftes Selbstgespräch, in welchem die Künstlerin versucht, "ihr Verständnis für ihre Lebensgeschichte zu bewahren".

Scher ist für ihre zahlreichen, wie wir heute begreiffen, visionären Überwachungsinstallationen bekannt, welche psycho-gesellschaftliche Dynamiken und Perversionen thematisieren. Dabei wird jedoch oft die formale, skulpturale Qualität ihrer Arbeit übersehen. Genau diese will die Ausstellung Maximum Security Society in der Kunsthalle Zürich ebenso hervorheben, sei es in Arbeiten wie Girl Dog Hybrid (2005), Hidden Camera (Architectural Vagina) (1991-2018) oder Surveillance Area (1994). Form bringt Kontrolle, Kontrolle muss sich selber überwachen, ohne Form werden jedoch weder Kontrolle noch Überwachung erkennbar.

Mit besonderem Dank an Magnus Schaefer. Ebenfalls danken wir den Leihgeber:innen der Ausstellung, Esther Schipper (Berlin), Galerie Drei (Köln), Mamco (Genf) sowie Moritz Englebert.

Presseinformationen

Für Bildanfragen, Informationen zum Ausstellungsprogramm und Interviews kontaktieren Sie bitte Aoife Rosenmeyer: presse [​at​] kunsthallezurich.ch oder +41 (0)44 272 15 15
Agenda
Oktober
Fr 07.10.
18:00–21:00

Eröffnung der Ausstellungen

17.–21.10.
09:00–16:00

COOL-TUR 2022

November
Dezember
Januar