DE/EN

Backrooms X Czarnagora: Transient Narrations – Concert with Yes Indeed and Ruhail Qaisar

Transient Narrations
Yes Indeed and Ruhail Qaisar
​15 October, 9pm

Dealing with memory can be cumbersome. Be it remembering itself or writing down the fleeting images and moods. How does one formulate it and how can one notify it in such a way that it can be unequivocally revived later without misdirecting the associations? Does it make any difference if one expands the described space of experiences and handed-down memories by including new associative spaces? And are there differences in storing experience and remembering bad and good moments? Perhaps it can be healing to record them. Perhaps a free improvised approach, a transient narration, is the most appropriate form of a description for these moments.

Music duo Yes Indeed takes on diary-like, epic dialectics with spontaneous wit and emotional samples, using cheeky sounds, some of which they create analogue, to create experimental pieces of music that they describe themselves as “fuggy and soaring, deliciously out of place”. The duo consists of Laurie Tompkins and Otto Willberg. Tompkins is a composer, runs the music label Slip and has released CDs on Entr'acte, 33-33 and Hyperdelia this year. Willberg is a bassist, plays in groups with Ashley Paul & Charles Hayward and has released an LP with his band Historically Fucked under the label Upset The Rhythm.

Ruhail Qaisar explores the confines of memory, intergenerational trauma and the operational swarm of the unconscious by incorporating vernacular poetic gestures and improvisation into his compositions. Qaisar is a self-taught multidisciplinary artist and producer from Ladakh, India. His work focuses on sound art and experimental filmmaking. Since 2016, he has been performing across India under his former name Sister and with his death metal band Vajravarah.

The event is a collaboration between Backrooms and the internationally operating label Czarnagora, which makes an important contribution to Zurich's small underground music scene.

Venue: Kunsthalle Zürich, basement
Limmatstrasse 270, 8005 Zurich

Image: Rafał Skoczek, 2022

Backrooms

A whisper behind a hand, a hatched plan, an embarrassing slip of the tongue, unexpected inspiration: these happen in the gaps, corridors and brief interactions on the way to other activities. In these liminal spaces — places as well as states — emerge zones of reverie with a psychological and social threshold character. They are marginal areas of ambiguous limbo where back doors are left open and free spaces unconstrained, thus generating potential for experimentation as well as for failure. 

Under the title Backrooms, a programme of events, readings, performances, screenings, concerts and other artistic formats will take place, organised by Otto Bonnen. The Löwenbräukunst offers various architectural and social spaces that Backrooms will engage with. Hidden, unoccupied spaces and informal break out rooms provide physical and structural spaces as well as collaborations that go beyond our walls with collectives or extra-institutional locations.

Sign up for the Backrooms newsletter

DE/EN

Backrooms X Czarnagora: Transient Narrations – Konzert mit Yes Indeed und Ruhail Qaisar

Transient Narrations
Yes Indeed und Ruhail Qaisar
15. Oktober, 21 Uhr

Der Umgang mit dem Gedächtnis kann umständlich sein. Sei es das Erinnern selbst oder das Aufschreiben der flüchtigen Bilder und Stimmungen. Wie formuliert man es und wie kann man es so notifizieren, dass man es später wieder unmissverständlich aufleben lassen kann, ohne die Assoziationen fehlzuleiten? Macht es denn etwas, wenn man den beschriebenen Raum von Erlebten und überlieferter Erinnerung um neue Assoziationsräume erweitert? Und gibt es Unterschiede im Speichern von Erfahrung und Erinnern von schlechten und guten Erlebnissen? Vielleicht kann es heilend sein, sie festzuhalten. Vielleicht ist ein freier, improvisierter Umgang, eine zeitweilige Erzählung, die angemessenste Form für eine Beschreibung dieser Momente.

Das Musik-Duo Yes Indeed nimmt sich mit spontanem Witz und emotionalen Samples einer tagebuchartigen, epischen Dialektik an und schafft mit frechen Sounds, die sie teils analog erzeugen, experimentelle Musikstücke, die sie selbst als «fuggy and soaring, deliciously out of place» beschreiben. Das Duo setzt sich zusammen aus Laurie Tompkins und Otto Willberg. Tompkins ist Komponist, leitet das Musiklabel Slip und hat in diesem Jahr CDs bei Entr'acte, 33-33 und Hyperdelia herausgebracht. Willberg ist Bassist, spielt in Gruppierungen mit Ashley Paul & Charles Hayward und hat mit seiner eigenen Band Historically Fucked eine LP unter dem Label Upset The Rhythm veröffentlicht.

Ruhail Qaisar erforscht die Grenzen von Erinnerung, generationenübergreifendem Trauma und dem operativen Schwarm des Unbewussten, indem er volkstümliche poetische Gesten und Improvisation in seine Kompositionen einbezieht. Qaisar ist ein autodidaktischer multidisziplinärer Künstler und Produzent aus Ladakh, Indien. Seine Arbeit konzentriert sich auf Sound Art und experimentelles Filmemachen. Seit 2016 tritt er in ganz Indien unter seinem früheren Namen Sister und mit seiner Death-Metal-Band Vajravarah auf.

Die Veranstaltung ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Backrooms und dem international tätigen Label Czarnagora, das einen wichtigen Beitrag zur kleinen Zürcher Underground-Musikszene leistet.

Veranstaltungsort: Kunsthalle Zürich, Untergeschoss
Limmatstrasse 270, 8005 Zürich

Bild: Rafał Skoczek, 2022

+

Backrooms

Ein kurzes Tuscheln hinter der Hand, ein ausgehecktes Vorhaben, ein peinlicher Ausrutscher, ein unverhoffter guter Gedanke, sie passieren in den Zwischenräumen, Gängen und kurzen Interaktionen auf dem Weg zu einer anderen Handlung. In diesen liminalen Räumen, die ebenso Orte wie Zustände beschreiben können, entstehen entrückte Zonen mit psychologischen und sozialem Schwellencharakter. Sie sind Randgebiete von mehrdeutiger Schwebe, die Hintertüren und ungezwungene Freiräume offen lassen und so Potenzial zum Ausprobieren aber auch zum Scheitern haben. 

Unter dem Titel Backrooms findet ein Programm von Veranstaltungen, Lesungen, Performances, Screenings, Konzerten und weiteren künstlerischen Formaten unter der Planung von Otto Bonnen statt. Das Löwenbräukunst bietet verschiedene architektonische und soziale Räume, denen sich Backrooms annehmen möchte. Versteckte Freiflächen und informelle Séparées liefern dabei ebenso physische und strukturelle Räume wie ausgreifende Kollaborationen mit Kollektiven oder ausserinstitutionellen Orten.

Anmeldung für den Backrooms Newsletter